theautolounge.net
January 19, 2018, 09:34:31 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: how are you guys computers running so fast?  (Read 1485 times)
PRDATR_Z
Master
*****
Posts: 611



View Profile
« on: May 22, 2010, 10:42:21 AM »

I've seen everyone's speed test results in their sig and people are running WAY faster than me. my upload and download speed are only around 2.50 mb/s each and my ping averages about 13-17. Have you guys added memory or something? I'm also doing the tests on my laptop, but i've got a HP with like 4 gigs of memory space which i know isn't a lot but still, that slow?? I'm also using google chrome and my ISP is Charter Communications.
Logged


2001 Camaro Z28, A4, LS6 intake, ported throttle body, longtube headers, true duals, 3" bullets dumped, slp lid
racer91
Master
*****
Posts: 536



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 11:05:41 AM »

what service are you paying for? the "lite" or "express"
Logged

PRDATR_Z
Master
*****
Posts: 611



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2010, 11:27:59 AM »

they've got their whole "run 10x faster for $5 extra per month" and we're on that, but I still think charter's internet sucks. Could also be my router? my router is so weak, I can't even get a decent enough signal to play xbox live in my house.
Logged


2001 Camaro Z28, A4, LS6 intake, ported throttle body, longtube headers, true duals, 3" bullets dumped, slp lid
slowfiveoh
Semper Paratus
Administrator
Grand Master
*****
Posts: I am a geek!!



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2010, 01:19:30 PM »

I am running a business class connection. I pay over $100.00/mo just for my internet, if that helps.

Connection speed has absolutely nothing to do with your PC, unless you are truly running some archaic thing, with a 10mbps card.


If you want a smokin PC to build, here are the specs for mine:

MSI NF980-G65
http://www.techwarelabs.com/msi-nf980-g65/

AMD 965 Black Edition quad core (3.4ghz per core)
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=2468

Thermaltake SpinQ:


Kingston HyperX DDR3:


I will soon be upgrading that to:


WD Velociraptor [I need to buy another and raid them]:


BFG GTX260 55nm Maxcore:



Corsair 850w:


I-INC 28" HDMI LCD (1920x1200 - Native):


 Grin

Logged

PRDATR_Z
Master
*****
Posts: 611



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2010, 01:27:19 PM »

oh wow, uhh i'm good haha. Those look like alien artifacts to me. Its not that my laptop is slow at all, but I would always like it to be faster.
Logged


2001 Camaro Z28, A4, LS6 intake, ported throttle body, longtube headers, true duals, 3" bullets dumped, slp lid
Palomba
Full Member
***
Posts: 166

5.0 Power


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2010, 01:30:31 PM »

I built this computer for 800 bucks by hording newegg for a month or so. Got all top of the line stuff about a year ago. Runs everything out now on full with great frame rate.

my internet is verizon Fios and i pay like 40 something a month for it. 
Logged


06' Dodge Ram Hemi quad cab short bed
-Superchips Tuned
1985 c4 Corvette 6.0 swap (in progress)
-headers
-LQ9 6.0L
-performer RPM intake manifold
-Cam
03_TrueBlue_GT
Grand Master
******
Posts: 1834


Doug


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2010, 04:09:25 PM »

If ye had a Ford and not spending all your money on repairs on that Camarer.......

JK

 Grin
Logged

SpiderX1016
Grand Master
******
Posts: 1377


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2010, 05:07:31 PM »

I have Charter for $30. Decent speeds for the price. I can't get Fios here.


Logged

"Under the sky, under the heavens there is but one family. It just so happens that people are different." - Bruce Lee
Fox
Guest
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2010, 05:50:12 AM »

Hmmm


I'm happy. Comcast cable internet, $60 month - I wish it was cheaper, but I'm happy. Beats DSL.
Logged
Oldcarsarecool
Senior Turd Polisher
Administrator
Grand Master
*****
Posts: 4657


A blind squirrel looking for a nut . . .


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2010, 07:44:41 AM »

Hmmm .  .  .



Isn't this like dial up ?
Logged

LSixer
Grand Master
******
Posts: 3386


Resident asshole of TAL


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2010, 09:43:59 AM »

Hmmm .  .  .



Isn't this like dial up ?

Worse. lmao

AOL? "You've got mail"!

Watch out for cable. Most people dont know that cable is like your favorite highway. As more people use it, the speeds slow down. I have heard stories from folks that are the first to get it on their block. Then, as the rest of the neighborhood signs on, speeds drop. I have DSL at home at it works from what we need. I have a T3 connection here at work.

Logged

Syncros
Master
*****
Posts: 923



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2010, 12:12:16 PM »

Ha mines pretty bad,

9.5 Download
.49 Upload
Ping 22ms

But..

This is off a Wireless connection with 5 other computers connected, Plus I live on an Island, closest server was in Vancouver, doesn't help that im on a $400 Netbook that has a pretty weak wireless card to begin with, im sure if I plugged it directly into the modem it would be much faster.
Logged
FabZ
Grand Master
******
Posts: 1096


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2010, 12:13:54 PM »

i don't exactly know how accurate that test is, because the nearest server to me is markham, however there is one closer here where i live actually.
Logged

Hey, I just passed you; and this is crazy. But, I'm in fourth gear, Vtec baby...
Fox
Guest
« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2010, 09:52:52 PM »

Anybody want to pay my Comcast bill?
Logged
Jerrycobra
Senior Member
****
Posts: 470


A&P mechanic


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2010, 09:58:58 PM »

i still use dsl, bitch, lol a blistering 1 Mps, haha, not to mention using a celeron rig after my still old p4 OS broke
Logged


Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC
SimplePortal 2.2 © 2008-2009
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!